Grandpa Charlie

One of my biggest fears about moving 6,000 miles away from all of my family and friends was the idea of losing someone. Unfortunately, this fear became reality.  My father’s father, my Grandpa Charlie, passed away last week. My middle name, Charles, was chosen after him. It really pains me to not be there with my family at this time, but there is no way I would have been able to make the trip.  The downside to living so far away… It makes it slightly easier knowing that he was always very proud things I was accomplishing and would totally understand my absence.

I’m sad about losing my grandfather, but realize that I have been rather fortunate to have grown up with all of my grandparents. I’ve such great memories with all of them, and Grandpa Charlie was no exception. Toward the end of his life, he had many health complications, but was always seemed very strong and had a smile on his face.  Absolutely amazing!  He was an incredibly hard worker that was dedicated to his family. Something that never went unnoticed!

Due to me living in Texas, I haven’t seen him much in the last 5 years.  When I came back to Nebraska, I never really got the chance to see him. Now, I kind of regret that. His passing has made me really reevaluate my relationships with people, and the time/energy that I invest in those relationships.  Here’s to you, Grandpa Charlie!

IMG_1624.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

